California TIPS Alcohol Training Online
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) training is not mandated by the state of California. However many insurance companies have made this training mandatory for their insured establishments.
TIPS Alcohol Training Online is accepted statewide for use in California. The TIPS On-Premise course for restaurants and bars, Off-Premise course for liquor and grocery stores and the Gaming course for casinos, riverboats, cruise ships, race tracks and gambling halls are all approved by California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
Sign up below or visit the course of your choice using the "TIPS Online Courses" menu to the upper left for detailed information.Please Be Sure to Click on the Correct Course For Your Establishment!
RBS Mandatory Training Municipalities:
The following cities/counties have made Responsible Beverage Server (RBS) training mandatory for all servers of alcohol;
- Alameda County
- City of Berkeley
- City of Newport Beach
- Orange County
- City of Rohnert Park
- City of Salinas
- City of Ventura
Additional cities and counties are currently considering mandating RBS training for all servers of alcohol.
Not all employees may be required to have California RBS TIPS training and certification, but as alcohol can have dangerous consequences, it's better to be safe than sorry. Not only does the training help promote responsible sales, but it also shows how a business can prevent liability as well as reducing their insurance rates.
California Alcohol Laws
This information has been provided to us by the regulating agency and is believed to be correct. However, laws and regulations may change at any time, and the information provided should not be relied upon in place of official documents or legal advice. For more information or clarification, consult the regulatory body for this jurisdiction directly.
Last checked: 09/19/2012
|Age to Consume||21|
|Age to Pour||21|
|Age to Sell||18 until 10:00PM. Employees on duty between the hours of 10 p.m. and 2 a.m. who sell beer or wine for off premise consumption shall be at least 21 years of age to sell beer and wine.|
|Age to Serve||21 Effective 01/01/2009 with some exceptions|
|DUI/DWI Limit||.08 - .04 for CDL|
|DUI/DWI Under Age Limit||.01|
|Maximum Alcohol per Drink||Not Regulated|
|Number of Drinks at One Time||Not Regulated|
|Dram Shop Liability Laws||There is no Dram Shop liability in California, except when alcohol is served, sold, or otherwise provided to an obviously intoxicated minor. In such a case the server, seller, or provider may be held liable for damages|
|Social Host Liability Laws||No. There is no social host law that allows any person to be held legally accountable for damages, injury or death suffered by any third person resulting from the consumption of those beverages. HOWEVER, nothing can preclude a claim against a parent, guardian, or another adult who knowingly furnishes alcoholic beverages at his or her residence to a person under 21 years of age, in which case,the furnishing of the alcoholic beverage may be found to be the proximate cause of resulting injuries or death.|
|Server Training Required by State||No - Many localities have specific requirements. Please check with your local authorites where you work.|
|ID Confiscation Allowed||Yes- Under Section 25659, a licensee, or his or her agent or employee, may seize any identification by a person that shows to be under 21 or false, so long as a receipt is given to the person from whom it was seized and the seized identification is given over to the local law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction over the premises within 24 hours|
|Recommended Age for Carding||30 - Not Mandated|
Acceptable Forms of ID - California
- A valid driver's license issued by federal, state, county, or municipal government.
- A valid passport.
- A valid passport card.
- An identification card issued by the Armed Forces of the United States that contains the name, date of birth, description, and picture of the person
(ID information last check and changed on 03/30/2010)