Louisiana TIPS Certification Online
Since the launch of the Louisiana Responsible Vendor Program in 1997, TIPS has trained and permitted thousands of servers in responsible alcohol service in Louisiana in it's classroom version. TIPS helps Louisiana licensees comply with jurisdiction-specific liquor laws, and teaches strategies to ensure responsible alcohol service and prevent illegal alcohol sales to underage and/or intoxicated guests. Additionally, this program can help Louisiana alcohol licensees reduce exposure to alcohol liability lawsuits, lower insurance rates, and improved customer satisfaction.
The Louisiana Responsible Vendor Mandatory Program has given approval to the eTIPS On-Premise course. At this time off-premise customers (liquor, convenience and grocery stores) should also take the On-Premise course listed on this page for RVP compliance.
Sign up below or visit the course of your choice using the "TIPS Online Courses" menu to the upper left for detailed information.Please take only the On-Premise course to comply with Louisiana RVP approvals!
Louisiana law requires servers of alcohol to complete a Responsible Vendor (RV) class and obtain an RV Server Permit within 45 days of employment. With the ATC's approval of eTIPS On Premise - Louisiana, servers can now earn the required alcohol server training permits online as well as through the TIPS for On Premise classroom course.
With so much at stake, TIPS has made it less complicated for prospective alcohol servers to get certified. By providing an online platform, certification only take 2 to 3 hours at a much lower cost and in an environment where you can go at your own pace. Take the course at home or anywhere with a wifi connection.
Louisiana Alcohol Laws
This information has been provided to us by the regulating agency and is believed to be correct. However, laws and regulations may change at any time, and the information provided should not be relied upon in place of official documents. For more information or clarification, consult the regulatory body for this jurisdiction directly.
Last update: 07/17/2014
|Age to Consume||21|
|Age to Pour||18|
|Age to Sell||18|
|Age to Serve||18|
|DUI/DWI Under Age Limit||.02|
|Maximum Alcohol per Drink||Not Regulated|
|Number of Drinks at One Time||Not Regulated|
|Dram Shop Liability Laws||Yes|
|Social Host Liability Laws||No|
|Server Training Required by State||Yes|
|Notes on Server/Seller Training Regulations||Louisiana has a mandatory Responsible Vendor Program for all servers and sellers of alcohol. TIPS online training (for On-Premise only) is approved. Off-Premise establishments (liquor and convenience stores) must take the On-Premise course.|
|ID Confiscation Allowed||It is illegal to possess a fake ID. It is also illegal to present a fake ID to purchase alcohol. The law does not address a clerk or bartender taking a ID. Some stores have a store policy on this.|
|Recommended Age for Carding||25, but not Mandatory.|
Acceptable Forms of ID - louisiana
- Any state driver's License
- Military ID
- Passport or US Passport Card
- Louisiana special identification card