tipsAlcoholTRainingOnline

TIPS On-Premise Alcohol Training Approved States

The On-Premise (for restaurants, bars, night clubs, banquets and by-the-drink establishments) TIPS Alcohol Online Training course is valid/accepted in these states with more approvals coming.

TIPS On Premise course is now available in Espanol in most states. Simply select “Spanish” under the language selector when signing up on the first page.

TIPS On Premise Training Online is Approved or Accepted in These States:

Alabama* Alaska* Arkansas California
Colorado* Connecticut DC Florida
Georgia Idaho Illinois Indiana
Iowa Kansas Kentucky* Louisiana
Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi
Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada
New Hampshire* New Jersey New York North Carolina
North Dakota Oklahoma Ohio Pennsylvania
Rhode Island South Carolina* South Dakota Utah
Virginia Washington  Washington, DC West Virginia
Wisconsin Wyoming    

* Some states have special conditions. These will popup when you type in your address and state on the registration page before you are asked to pay.

TIPS On Premise Training Online is Also Approved by These Agencies:

  • Illinois Liquor Control Commission - BASSETT
  • Indiana Alcohol Tobacco Commission (ATC)
  • Louisiana Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control RVP
  • Michigan Liquor Control Commission (MLCC)
  • New York State Liquor Authority (NYSLA) ATAP
  • Rhode Island Department of Mental Health, Retardation and Hospitals
  • Utah Department of Human Services
  • Washington State Liquor Control Board (WSLCB) Mandatory Alcohol Server Training (MAST)
  • Wisconsin Department of Revenue - Wisconsin Bartending License

California - BASSET alcohol training is not mandatory in the State of Illinois, however many municipalities in the State of Illinois do require BASSET training. You are advised to check your local ordinances to see if BASSET training is mandatory to be employed at the establishment of your choice. TIPS On-Premise course is fully-approved by the Illinois Liquor Control Commission BASSET program.

Illinois - BASSET alcohol training is not mandatory in the State of Illinois, however many municipalities in the State of Illinois do require BASSET training. You are advised to check your local ordinances to see if BASSET training is mandatory to be employed at the establishment of your choice. TIPS On-Premise course is fully-approved by the Illinois Liquor Control Commission BASSET program.

Indiana – The Indiana Alcohol and Tobacco Commission (ATC) requires all servers of alcohol to take approved training and apply for a Beverage Server Permit. TIPS is approved by the ATC for both on-premise and off-premise employees. A Restricted Permit is available to 19 and 20 year old employees. They must also first take an approved course.

Louisiana – Responsible Vendor Program requires all servers of alcohol to attend an approved course and obtain a Bar Card. According to Louisiana law “any employee of a vendor who is authorized to sell or serve alcoholic beverages in the normal course of his or her employment or deals with customers who purchase or consume alcoholic beverage” must attend an RV Class and obtain an RV Server Permit within 45 days of their hire date.

Massachusetts - Responsible alcohol training is NOT required by the state of Massachusetts. However, Massachusetts is one of the largest TIPS Alcohol certification states. Many Massachusetts cities and towns have made TIPS training mandatory and most of the major liquor liability insurance companies require Massachusetts bars to have all of their staff TIPS certified.

Having your TIPS certification card when you apply for a liquor serving job in Massachusetts may improve your chances of being hired since you are already certified and ready to go to work. Be prepared, get certified in advance!

Michigan - The Michigan Liquor Control Commission (MLCC) requires new licensees and any license transfer of more than 50% to have successfully taken an accepted server training course. TIPS on-premise course is approved by the MLCC.

New York - As of November 17th, 2011, eTIPS online On Premise, an online training and certification program for servers, was approved by the New York State Liquor Authority (NYSLA). The NYSLA sets the minimum standards for and certifying schools to provide ATAP (Alcohol Training Awareness Program) training. The NYSLA has also approved the off-premise and gaming courses.

Even though ATAP training is not currently mandatory in the state of New York, TIPS training is required by thousands of New York alcohol serving establishments.The NYSLA encourages the training by considering it a mitigating factor if a liquor violation was to occur and there hadn’t been any previous violations in the past 5 years. The training also provides servers of alcohol with the knowledge to recognize potential alcohol-related problems and how to intervene to prevent possible alcohol-related tragedies.

Nevada - Responsible alcohol training is NOT required by the state of Nevada. However, Carson City, Reno and Las Vegas do regulate online alcohol training. The TIPS On-Premise (as well as Off-Premise and Gaming) online course is approved by all three cities. In addition, many gaming and resort establishments have made TIPS alcohol training mandatory for their staff that serves alcohol.

Rhode Island - Responsible alcohol training is MANDATORY in the state of Rhode Island. TIPS Alcohol Training Online is accepted statewide in Rhode Island. When you enter your information on the sign up page and choose "Rhode Island", you will see a red message that says "eTIPS is approved for use per the state's mandatory training law."

New Hampshire - TIPS is accepted statewide in New Hampshire for all servers of alcohol except new liquor license holders. New Hampshire laws state that new bar owners: "It is mandatory for any new licensee or his/her designee to attend a management training seminar, developed and provided by the State Liquor Commission within 45 days of issuance of the license. This requirement applies to both on premise and off premise licensees. This requirement does not apply to anyone holding a license as of the effective date (September 9, 2001)."

Washington - Responsible alcohol training is MANDATORY in the state of Washington. TIPS On-Premise Alcohol Training Online is accepted statewide in Washington. The Washington State Liqur Cntrol Board (WSLCB) has approved TIPS Online On-Premise alcohol training as part of the Mandatory Alcohol Server Training (MAST). Servers of Alcohol who are 18 to 20 years of age must posess a Class 13 permit to serve alcohol and servers of alcohol who are 21 and over must posess a Class 12 Permit to serve alcohol.

Upon completion of the Washington eTIPS course, the participant will be provided a Washington Class 12 permit or  Washington Class 13 permit from HCI within 30 days. The state of Washington also requires the student to provide their social security number, date of birth, height and weight when enrolling in the Washington MAST course. This information will NOT be supplied to anyone other than regulatory officials and/or your employer.

Wisconsin - Responsible alcohol training is MANDATORY in the state of Wisconsin. TIPS On-Premise Alcohol Training Online and TIPS Off-Premise Alcohol Training Online are approved by the Wisconsin Department of Revenue and is accepted statewide in Wisconsin. Anyone who serves alcohol in the State of Wisconsin should take this training in order to receive their Wisconsin Bartending License from their local liquor authority. Bartenders, servers, managers, owners, liquor store clerks, grocery store clerks and gas station clerks should take this course.

Once you successfully complete our online course, you may immediately print your temporary certification. We understand you need this certification to work and have made it available immediately! Our course takes approximately 3 hours to complete!

After completing our course, the next step for you is to take your completion certificate from our course to your local liquor authority to register and get your actual license to serve alcohol in the community you work in. Wisconsin issues these licenses in each town/city/county and they are only valid in that community.

We know you have a tough schedule and that's why we offer live telephone support to make sure you don't waste time if you’re in need of technical assistance.

You may call us toll free at 1-877-541-3555 with any questions about the TIPS Alcohol Training online class.