Oklahoma TIPS Certification - TIPS Training
Responsible alcohol training is mandated by the state of Oklahoma. This law became effective October 1st 2018. The law requires any person who sells or serves alcoholic beverages in the state of Oklahoma to take and pass an ABLE approved responsible alcohol course in order to receive an Oklahoma Employee License. This law applies to managers of liquor-serving establishments to get their license whether or not they participate in the serving of alcohol.
After successful completion of the eTIPS course, staff may apply for their Oklahoma Employee License Here.
TIPS is accepted state-wide in Oklahoma for both On and Off-Premise staff.If you are looking to train your staff, please visit our Group Training page!
Who Should Be TIPS Certified?
Anyone who serves alcohol or is a manager in an Oklahoma licensed establishment must take and pass responsible alcohol training and then apply for an Employee License with the state of Oklahoma. TIPS certification is also required by many insurance companies. In addition, having your staff TIPS certified may reduce you liquor liability insurance!
- Bar Backs
- ID Checkers
- Grocery, liquor, and convenience store clerks and managers.
Follow These Easy Steps Below to get TIPS Certified
- Enroll in our class by clicking on one of the "Buy Now" buttons above.
- Complete the TIPS alcohol certification course online at your own pace.
- Pass the certification exam. You have 30 days to complete the course.
- If you fail the final exam you have one additional attempt to pass at no charge.
- Print your TIPS certificate as proof of your online certification.
- Receive your permanent TIPS certification card by US mail in 7 to 10 business days.
The eTIPS On-Premise course addresses concerns specific to restaurants, hotels, nightclubs, and other establishments where the alcohol is consumed on-premise.
The eTIPS Off-Premise course addresses concerns specific to grocery, liquor and package stores where the alcohol is consumed off the premises. The course focuses on recognizing signs of intoxication, preventing underage sales as well as second party sales.
Alcohol service laws are governed by: Oklahoma ABLE Commission
Oklahoma Alcohol Laws
This information has been provided to us by the regulating agency and is believed to be correct. However, laws and regulations may change at any time, and the information provided should not be relied upon in place of official documents. For more information or clarification, consult the regulatory body for this jurisdiction directly.
|Age to Consume||21|
|Age to Pour||21|
|Age to Sell||21|
|Age to Serve||18|
Oklahoma Employee License FAQS
What licenses do I need to sell alcohol i n Oklahoma?
Oklahoma Statute Title 37A from the Oklahoma Alcoholic Beverage Control Act states that an employee license is required for any employee selling or serving alcoholic beverages in any place where such beverages are sold, mixed, or served. The law also applies to all manages of alcohol-serving establishments whether the manager serves alcohol or not.
How do I apply for the Oklahoma Employee License to serve alcohol?
- Click on our links above to apply.
- Fill out their forms online.
- Pay the current Oklahoma fee to the state.
- This fee is NOT included in the TIPS course fee.
How long does it take to receive my Employee Licensee from the State of Oklahoma?
You will receive a 30 day temporary license online right away. Once your 30 day temporary license expires your may print a copy of your standard license right away if needed. However, Oklahoma maintains a database of Employee License holders and it may be looked up by an employer online prior to receiving your paper copy.
You will receive your OK Employee License via mail within 30 days. However,
How do I get a replacement Employee License if I lose mine?
Your license may be viewed and reprinted online at the ABLE website.
Can a convicted felon get an Employee License to serve alcohol?
If otherwise qualified, a convicted felon may obtain an ABLE Employee license as long as the conviction occurred over five years ago and was not violent or ABLE-related offense.
A violent crime includes (but is not limited to) murder, rape, assault, battery, robbery, burglary, pointing a firearm, arson, inciting a riot, possessing child pornography, lewd or indecent proposal of a child, extortion, or terrorism or terrorism hoax. 37AO.S.§2-148(D)(2),57O.S.§571(2).
Get TIPS Certified in 3 Hours
100% Online Mobile Friendly Courses