Virginia TIPS Certification - TIPS Training
Responsible alcohol training is not mandated by the state of Virginia. Any person who sells or serves alcoholic beverages in the state of Virginia should take and pass a responsible alcohol course to help protect themselves and their employer from potential legal incidents.
Viginia has a Voluntary Responsible Vendor Program and eTIPS is an approved provider.
TIPS is accepted state-wide in Virginia.If you are looking to train your staff, please visit our Group Training page!
Who Should Be TIPS Certified?
Anyone who serves alcohol in a Virginia licensed establishment should take this training and receive their certification. TIPS certification is also required by many insurance companies. In addition, having your staff TIPS certified may reduce you liquor liability insurance!
- Bar Backs
- ID Checkers
- Grocery, liquor, and convenience store clerks and managers.
Follow These Easy Steps Below to get TIPS Certified
- Enroll in our class by clicking on one of the "Buy Now" buttons above.
- Complete the TIPS alcohol certification course online at your own pace.
- Pass the certification exam. You have 30 days to complete the course.
- If you fail the final exam you have one additional attempt to pass at no charge.
- Print your TIPS certificate as proof of your online certification.
- Receive your permanent TIPS certification card by US mail in 7 to 10 business days.
The eTIPS On-Premise course addresses concerns specific to restaurants, hotels, nightclubs, and other establishments where the alcohol is consumed on-premise.
The eTIPS Off-Premise course addresses concerns specific to grocery, liquor and package stores where the alcohol is consumed off the premises. The course focuses on recognizing signs of intoxication, preventing underage sales as well as second party sales.
Alcohol service laws are governed by: Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control
Virginia Alcohol Laws
This information has been provided to us by the regulating agency and is believed to be correct. However, laws and regulations may change at any time, and the information provided should not be relied upon in place of official documents. For more information or clarification, consult the regulatory body for this jurisdiction directly.
|Age to Consume||21|
|Age to Pour||21*|
|Age to Sell||18|
|Age to Serve||18|
|*Age to Pour: 18 year old may bartend in beer and wine only establishment. No distilled spirits.|
Training Students from these Virginia Cities and more:
They say "Virginia is for lovers"! One thing Virginians love is their nightlife. Virginia has numerous comedy clubs, nightclubs, casinos, upscale restaraunts, neighborhood pubs and hotels. In addition the craft beer brewry industry is exploding with new brewries opening monthly.
While responsible alcohol service training is not required by state law in Virginia, many employers have taken advantage of the Virginia voluntary responsible alcohol service program and have made the training mandatory to work at their establishment. Both TIPS On Premise and Off Premise courses are RVP approved. To maximize your chances of getting hired in our industry we recommend getting your Virginia TIPS certification prior to applying for that job.
Join our students from these great cities and more:
|Newport News||Centreville||Charlottesville||Danville||Alexandria||Dale City||Lake Ridge||Mechanicsville|
Get TIPS Certified in 3 Hours
100% Online Mobile Friendly Courses