Florida TIPS Certification Online
Responsible alcohol training is not mandated by the state of Florida. However, some Florida Insurance companies have made certification mandatory for the bars to purchase liquor liability insurance. The state of Florida does offer mitigating benefits to servers who have been certified in the event of violations.
TIPS On-Premise, Off-Premise and TIPS Gaming online courses are all accepted statewide in Florida. Sign up below or visit the course of you choice using the "TIPS Online Courses" menu to the upper left for detailed information.
TIPS Alcohol Training Online is accepted statewide for use in Florida.
Please Be Sure to Click on the Correct Course For Your Establishment!
Why Should I Take the TIPS Online Training Course for Florida?
Florida has a tourist based economy with people from all over the world visiting bars and restaurants with a vacation attitude and different appearing ID's. The TIPS alcohol course gives special priority to people skills, in that it focuses on how service professionals can notice when different types of people are intoxicated, awareness in confronting customers when they've had one drink too many and how to notice a fake ID.
TIPS now offers online training, providing the full benefits of the program, but at a much lower cost and in the comfort of your own home.
With so much at stake, TIPS has made it less complicated for prospective alcohol servers to get certified. By providing an online platform, certification in approximately 3 hours at a much lower cost and in an environment where you can go at your own pace. Take the course at home or anywhere with a wifi connection.
Florida Alcohol Laws
This information has been provided to us by the regulating agency and is believed to be correct. However, laws and regulations may change at any time, and the information provided should not be relied upon in place of official documents. For more information or clarification, consult the regulatory body for this jurisdiction directly.
Last checked: 07/19/2012
|Age to Consume||21|
|Age to Pour||18 years of age or older in the sale, preparation, or service of alcoholic beverages in a licensed On-premise Establishment (FL Statute 562.111(1))|
|Age to Sell||Generally 16 for grocery stores, drug stores and other Off-Premise beer and wine licenses. There are a number of stipulations for selling under the age of 18. Please visit http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes, Chapter 562, Section 562.13 'Employment of Minors' for more information|
|Age to Serve||18 - There are some exceptions to these rules. Please consult Florida Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco for detailed information.|
|DUI/DWI Under Age Limit||.02|
|Maximum Alcohol per Drink||153 Proof|
|Number of Drinks at One Time||Not Regulated|
|Dram Shop Liability Laws||Florida has a modified Dram Shop Law which provides that a person who sells or furnishes alcoholic beverages to a person of lawful drinking age (21) can't be held liable for injury or damage caused by or resulting from the intoxication of such person, unless the person selling or providing the alcoholic beverage sells the beverage to a minor (under 21), or to someone who is known to be habitually addicted to the use of any or all alcoholic beverages. In such cases the person selling or providing the beverage may incur civil liability.|
|Social Host Liability Laws||Yes|
|Server Training Required by State||No, but training may be used as a mitigating factor in violations.|
|ID Confiscation Allowed||No|
|Recommended Age for Carding||30|
Acceptable Forms of ID - Florida
- Any State Driver's License
- Military ID
- Passport or US Passport Card
- State-Issued ID Card